While I still think that the new template for the blog looks good, it might have hidden from general view some good work that has been showing up in the comments.

I still want to check some things about Lojban before writing an answer to greb, but first I want to share some thoughts by J.:

Anyway, I have been working on Beanish for a bit before reading this blog, and you have helped me fill in a lot of blanks in my notes. It’s actually starting to make sense! Thank you. Coming from a different direction I’ve notice a couple differences between your corpus and mine, but the majority is almost exactly the same.

One important feature I think you are missing is word-structure. I’m going from the assumption that ‘Beanish’ is a synthetic language (as opposed to an isolating one), and one with a rigid templatic structure and semi-fluid morpheme boundaries. With that in mind, I want to propose a few morphemes:

ᖆᐣᖽ – To (Preposition)

ᖆᐣᖽ (To, x3)
ᔪᖆᓄᐧ (What to?)
ᖆᖽᒣ (Up?)
ᖆᐣᖚᔭ (Today? [Fudging a bit here])
ᖆᐣᑕᑦᖚᑫ (UKN)
ᖆᔭᖊᖽ (UKN)
*ᖆᕬᖉᔭ (Not an occurrence of the morpheme?)
*ᖆᓄᘈᖉᐣ (Not an occurrence of the morpheme?)
*ᘊᒣᑦᖽᖆ (Not an occurrence of the morpheme)
*ᖆᘈᘖ (Not an occurrence of the morpheme)

(ᖽ)ᘛ – You (2nd Person)

ᘛᔭ (You are)
ᖽᘛᕋᑦ (You Possessive x2) *This changes corpus line 26*
ᘛ (You)
ᘛᖆᖚᘈ (You Journeyed?) *This is a minor change to corpus line 24*
ᘛᐣ (You, [3 plural?])
*ᘖᖆᒣᘛ (Not an occurrence of morpheme)

ᕒᖚᐧ – Where

ᔪᕒᖚᐧ (Where from)
ᕒᖚᐧ (Where x4) *Line 25?*
ᕒᖚᑫᕋ, (UKN)

Also, if ᖉᑦ, means yes or good, then ᖉ, ᖆᐣᖚᔭ, would mean good day, with the ᖆᐣ prefix meaning something .. but that bit is eluding me.

Notice, for all these morphemes, than when the morpheme is placed before (or sometimes next to) a word, the phonemes ᐣ, ᖽ, ᘖ, & ᐧ will occasionally drop. This gives us a ‘core’ phoneme or two for each morpheme (ᖆ, ᘛ, ᕒᖚ, ᖉ, and ᔕ for we). I also propose that ᑫ is a core for a possessive morphemic suffix, and ᘊ is a core for a importance-marker type morphemic prefix.

Finally, this is the word structure template that I can work out with these morphemes:

(Q-Word)/PERSON (opt?) – (PREPOSITION) – (Importance marker) – word – (POSSESSION)

If you have any insights on this approach, or know of a better place to put this, let me know! Hopefully we can get this cracked.

I don’t think that ᖆ- is a morpheme in the way J. suggests, as the hypothesis of having it as a determiner or a semantic morpheme for “bigger, larger” still sounds more plausible to me. I also find it unlikely that morphemes and phonemes are joined the way described (but I am not sure I completely understood it), especially after  considering the frequencies of glyph to glyph to transition that seem to disprove it (not to mention that, if what we have been calling “diacritics” are indeed diacritics, it might be needed to remove them from our analysis).

While I am not really sure abput the differences in his/her reading of the script, the suggestions for ᘛ and ᕒᖚᐧ make a lot of sense and ᖉ, ᖆᐣᖚᔭ, has probably been nailed down (I had translated it as “good morning” by observing the conversational clues, but I am now surprised about how I could have missed the ᖉ as “good”, which now seems so obvious! great work, J.!). What is really important, however, is that the freshness of the rigid synthetic paradigm he/she suggests. While some comments on the OTT during the comic run had similar hypothesis, and I think I posted something along these lines in one of my first posts, it is the first time I am seeing a true hypothesis for the word structure template of Beanish.

We are finally getting to the point that we can draw some hypothesis and test them.

